Bonus Raspberries

It is always lovely getting to know a new space and our garden here is still throwing up surprises nine months or so after we moved in. I was just looking at the wildlife pond behind the polytunnel and I noticed a bonus crop in the wild corner behind it – a bumper crop of wild raspberries! I knew that there were some in the estate farmlands round behind our place but I had overlooked this brambly corner area.

Here is the patch, behind the pond and with the back of the polytunnel visible in the right hand side of the picture.
Here is the patch, behind the pond and with the back of the polytunnel visible in the right hand side of the picture.
There were plenty of ripe berries on there but I picked them all before I thought to take a photo.
There were plenty of ripe berries on there but I picked them all before I thought to take a photo.

My home grown raspberries in the orchard/forest garden are not ripe yet so it is good to find we have some raspberries earlier than expected. It is great to forage and I do so every year – but how great is it when you can forage in your own garden! Permaculture design proponents talk about zoning – we are reaping the benefits of the wilder zone to the rear of the garden, but it does go to show that you really do overlook things in zones that are further from the house and which you do not pass every day.

2 thoughts on “Bonus Raspberries

Leave a Reply

