Gooseberries and Blueberries

This is the time of year when you can think about increasing your fruit crops for the following year, planting bare-root plants or putting pot grown plants into their permanent home. This is exactly what I have turned my mind to now that the vegetable growing side of things has slowed down for the winter.

I have bought and planted three bare-root gooseberry bushes in the forest garden. The chickens took great delight in getting in my way as I dug the holes and eating any worms or other little creatures that I unearthed. I mulched with some fallen leaves and amended the soil with a little compost.

The blueberries are pot grown and they will remain in containers in the orchard/forest garden area. They are best grown in a container as they like acid conditions. I will be keeping them in their own area of ericaceous compost rather than amending our soil.

I am hoping these plants will thrive and we will increase our fruit stocks next year. We should now have some blueberries and gooseberries in addition to our strawberries, raspberries, wild and cultivated, mahonia berries,  elderberries, plums and apples. Perhaps we will also be able to help our cherry trees to keep their fruits and our pear tree to produce more than one sad looking pear. I hope my little damson sapling will also fruit next year or the one after, so we will have to wait and see which of these plants will deliver a bounty next year.

4 thoughts on “Gooseberries and Blueberries

    1. Hi Helen, We are indeed lucky and do have lots of fruit trees and bushes – though not in a huge amount of land. The orchard that I am slowly turning into more of a forest garden is about 20m x 10m with about ten mature trees and six chickens in that space. In total we have around 1/3 acre outside space here – not a lot really but I hope to show that we can do a lot with it!

      Like

      1. Sounds a lot in comparison with my back garden 🙂

        I have been impressed with what I produced this year, so no doubt you will have abundance in the future. I guess, it depends on what you want to grown and how much light there is.

        Like

Leave a Reply

